Presidents Function 2020

29 July - What a great evening, as we celebrated the end of the 2019-2020 Rotary year, the end of the club’s 99th year. This event marked the end of Denise Church's eventful presidency, the beginning of John McKinnon's and the start of our 100th year. In recognition of this, the original club 1921 chains of office used for the changeover. 

The style of the function reflected this very different year. We welcomed new member Samier Khan, and also transferring member John Prendergast.  Three talented young vocalists, Lesieli Katoa, Tofoi Sio Lolesio and Sara Lualua, from Wellington East Girls' College, gave a wonderful performance and provided background music whilst members and guests mingled. We heard from Hon. Grant Robertson, Minister of Finance and our honorary club member; and from Gillian Jones, our new District Governor. 

President Denise acknowledged many who had stepped in to help fill Rebecca's role during her absence and those who kept the club running and adapting to the changing environment due to COVID-19.

Paul Harris Fellows were awarded to the following people recognizing significant contributions to the club and the community over the past year:

  • Geoff Eades (new)
  • Marion Cowden (Sapphire pin)
  • Lee Wilkinson (Double sapphire)
  • Grant Robertson (Sapphire pin)

Thank you to our new President-Elect, Joy Tracey for managing the Zoom link so we could include those who couldn't be present on the night, and for the lovely photos below. 





Presidents Function 2020

+ Text Size -
Original generation time 2.2930 seconds. Cache Loaded in: 0.0408 seconds.