Presidents Function 2018

On 27 June 2018, approximately 70 members and guests gathered at the Wellington Club to celebrate Peter Lawson's very successful year as President. 

The evening opened with a Jazz duo comprising of our 2018 Undergraduate Jazz music prize winner, Frank Talbot on the saxophone, accompanied by Chris Beernick on the Upright Bass.

Our special guest, the Honorable Trevor Mallard spoke about Peter's year as President and presented the Paul Harris Fellow Awards with President Peter Lawson.

Award recipients were Karen Coutts, Peter Cornish and Mark Wheeler (absent), who were presented Paul Harris Fellows. Sapphire pins were awarded to George Fairbairn and Bob Stannard (absent). A ruby pin was presented to Anthony Scott for his extensive work with the District. 

Further to the Paul Harris Fellow awards, President Peter awarded Emeritus Member badges to two members who have either been with the club for 40 years or more, or who have reached 90 years of age and have been with the club 10 years or more.  Recipients on the night were John Cook and Denzil Brown.

After the speeches and presentations, cellist duo Rebecca Warner and Samuel Berkahn serenaded the group through the remainder of the event.

The evening was captured by James Griffin of Edgeline Photography. Photos can be viewed here.

+ Text Size -
Original generation time 2.1421 seconds.